Gleefully Apathetic – Season 5 – Episode 4

Two years ago, I would have been counting down the days till Glee was back on the air.  I would have excitedly planned a dinner themed to the episode and snuggled in with my best gay.  I would have rewatched all my favorite parts and followed the episode with some Glee karaoke.  And it would have been glorious.  As it stands now, I was pleasantly surprised to see Glee taping on my DVR tonight, though that quickly faded during the “Here’s What You Missed on Glee…” recap.  There was maybe one thing that I cared about in the entire montage(Kurt’s band) and even that was a maybe. My plan was to write up a similar article to what I’ve done in the past (a list of what worked and what didn’t work), but this episode was so bad that it wasn’t even worth that.  There were maybe three funny jokes and all of the songs were either boring or just weird.  I did feel bad for Lea Michele.  Though limited in use, the few scenes she was on it seemed a bit like she wasn’t ready to be back.  Let the girl grieve, Ryan Murphy!

Anyway, I am a Gleek and will forever be a Gleek.  I will watch this show until it gets cancelled, but the truth of the matter is that this episode was downright bad and that is not okay for a return episode in an already down season.  I’ve heard rumor that they will be expanding the New York portion of the show and dumping the high school.  Honestly, that can not come fast enough.  The high school portion of the show has long outstayed it’s welcome.  The music numbers are garish and boring, the storylines are convoluted and boring, the acting is stilted and boring.  (I think you can see where I’m going with this.)

What Glee needs, what is has always needed was to stop and focus on the characters.  To do that it first needs to cut a whole bunch of them (I’m looking at you Marley, Jake, Kitty, Ryder, Tina, Sam and Unique) and perhaps do a time jump.  Let’s get the few interesting characters from the high school version out of Lima and into New York.  Then let’s focus on what it’s like to be a theatre geek in your early 20’s in New York.  It is a unique fun and interesting experience.  Let’s see it!  Though one thing to note – just because they can sing and dance doesn’t mean they all need to be actors on Broadway.  Let’s get some (organic) variety up in this place when it comes to career paths.  Also, please send Kurt back to the fashion world.  Enough with my rant, but after seeing the preview for next week my expectations are very low.  (Mr. Shue singing Blurred Lines with the kids, are you kidding me?)

Leave a Reply

