Let It Glee – Season 5 – Episodes 1 & 2

I must admit that I wasn’t a Gleek from the beginning.  When I first heard the concept for the show I was sure it wouldn’t sustain itself beyond Season 2.  I was confused by the pilot, finding it difficult to figure out who I was supposed to be rooting for.  (It doesn’t help that I really don’t care for Lea Michele or Matthew Morrison.)  By the end of Season 1, I was done.  Convinced that I would never care about the show, I wrote it off completely, not even bothering to DVR it and pretend I was going to watch it later.  However, somewhere around the third season a friend explained his theory that Glee was so ridiculous, because it was a heightened version of reality, a campy satire.  I don’t know why this had never occurred to me before (my wife says it’s because I don’t listen to her), but that, combined with the top notch Adele mash up, got me to give the show another chance, and I was hooked.

Once I became a Gleek, I was all in.  I devoured Season 2 and 3, watching episodes three or four times.  I received all three volumes of Glee Karaoke as a Christmas present and used them on a regular basis.  I was not shy about my intense love for the show, giddily recounting jokes and sending videos of performances to my friends.  Season 3 was a bit rocky, but I didn’t care.  I loved every second of it and craved more.  Unfortunately, rough doesn’t even begin to describe Season 4. The quality of the writing had declined steeply, and I was hesitant about Season 5.  A lot of my friends had stopped watching and, quite frankly, I watch way too much TV to waste my time on shows I don’t actually enjoy.  I refrained from broadcasting an opinion until after the first two episodes, because I felt that they seemed like a two-parter, and I wanted to give the show a chance.

I am very glad I did.

I found the season premiere “Love, Love, Love” terrible.  I almost thought I had made a horrible mistake committing to another season, but “Tina in the Sky with Diamonds” proved that Glee still has it.  While this season will likely be hit or miss, I am really looking forward to seeing what’s in store.

Things That Work


  • HummelPezBerry Friendship

This was a big part of what was missing in Season 4.  Firstly, they took half a season to get Santana to New York.  Then, once she got there, they spent way too much time having the three of them fight.  One of the best things about living in New York is forming your own little family of friends.  I’m hoping they really explore that this season.

Evidently their pot dealer is amazing.

  • Dantana

I am a Santana fan, so there is a pretty good possibility I would ship her with anybody, but I thought that Naya Rivera and Demi Lovato were super adorable and had some palpable chemistry.  I know a lot of Brittana fans were unhappy, because of Santana’s comments about Brittany straying for ween (grossed myself out there), but I think it was just the Glee writers misguidedly trying to give us what they thought we wanted.  The lesbian community was up in arms when Brittany called us out in relation to Bram last year, now we’re mad that Santana is weary about dating another bisexual girl.  I’m not bi-phobic, but considering Brittany originally refused to get together with Santana because of Bartie then within a week of breaking up became Bram, I can understand how Santana feels a little less than.  They’ve never handled the lesbian love stories well, but I have hope for this one.  Even if Demi Lovato is only contracted for six episodes.

Adorable, but this is TV so one of you is going to end up dead or pregnant by season’s end.

  • Santana’s Commercial

Everything about this was perfect.

  • Bree

Please, please, please don’t try to redeem her, Glee writers.  Keep her bitchy and perfect.

I’ll punch Kitty in the face!!

  • Sue as Principal

They needed to do something different with Sue, and this was the perfect solution.  Her write off last year was awkward, and I’m happy to put that behind us, but have we forgotten that she has a baby?  Also, BRING BACK BECKY!

A beautiful, golden haired monster.

  • Prom Carrie Parody

They really knocked this one out of the park.  The only thing I wish they would have done differently was somehow take it further and play on Carrie’s telekinetic powers.  Alas, Tina just sadly limps off the stage then is somehow revitalized by Blaine’s wide-mouthed rendition of Hey Jude and a rather unattractive dress that magically changes sizes like the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

This is her best look yet!

Things That Don’t


  • Sam/Nurse Romance

Don’t care. Next.

I couldn’t find a gif, because gifs can’t support the size of Sam’s mouth.

  • Klaine Engagement

Didn’t we do teen engagement two seasons ago?  Also, weren’t they broken up a hot second ago?  A couple can be endgame without getting them engaged before they’re 20!  Also, public engagements are the worst.  The only way they can redeem this storyline is to ignore it and then let a real proposal happen naturally.

Yeah that’s a great way to start an engagement.

  • Funny Girl Storyline/Rachel as Fanny

I literally cringed during the Hard Day’s Night sequence.  Yes, let’s confront the lead actor and director of the show at our place of employment.  What a great way to prove that you’re mature enough for a role.  Also, no producer in their right mind would put a 19-year-old college freshman in the lead role of a multi-million dollar production.  If I were writing the show I would have made Rachel the understudy and cast Sutton Foster as a super bitchy diva version of herself.  Then later you could have a Shirley MacLaine moment where the understudy takes over the lead role at the last minute and becomes a star.  That’s a better story, and you could have had so much more fun.  The only reason I’m at least a little forgiving of this is because they needed to give Rachel a win before the devastating blow that will be Finn’s death.  Not looking forward to that.

Of course you did. Ugh.

  • Kartie Songs

Not a fan of them, at all.  They don’t have any chemistry and do not blend well.  Let’s keep them both away from the Beatles please. Thank you.

Going in circles is not making me as sick as this song. Also, Kitty that is not the proper way to ride in a bumper car.

  • Tina the Human Punching Bag

What personality will Tina show up with today?  Who knows, but we do know that she will be taught a very important lesson!  However, her half performance of Revolution, where she was cut off by the bell, was simply priceless.  Also, in what universe would she be nominated for prom queen?

Or be some other girl. We don’t know, we’ve lost track of your personalities.

  • Lima/New York Psychic Connection/InstaTube Transportation

Dear Glee Writers, I hate hate hate when you do a final song that through some weird psychic connection they are singing in both New York and Lima.  Let just New York end a show for once.  I promise it won’t kill you.  Also, it’s a 9 hour drive to New York from Lima and the closest airport is an hour and a half away (assuming Columbia is closest, correct me if I’m wrong).  Stop making them instantly travel between the two!  Let’s make the New Yorkers’ trips to Lima special, like for Christmas or Finn’s funeral.  Otherwise keep the New Yorkers in New York!

If you squint you can see the time vortex.

To Sum It Up

Leave a Reply

